Germany and the East African Community

East African Community

The East African Community (EAC) was founded in 1999 by Kenya, Tanzania and Uganda and they were joined by Burundi and Rwanda in 2007. All five EAC Partner States are historically closely interlinked and their development perspectives depend on each other. The EAC’s milestones are fourfold: the Customs Union Protocol was signed in January 2005 and has been implemented since, the EAC Common Market Protocol became effective in July 2010, and the EAC Monetary Union Protocol was signed in November 2013. The ultimate goal of the EAC – according to the Charter – is a political federation.

German Cooperation with the EAC

Germany has been a long-standing and significant partner for the institution since its inception, providing technical assistance and financial support to the Secretariat in Arusha. Development cooperation focuses on i) regional economic integration and ii) health. Germany also supports activities in the water as well as the education sector.

      - The Programme “Support to the EAC Integration Process that is being implemented by GIZ focuses on institutional strengthening of the EAC Secretariat, the inclusion of non-state actors as well as implementation of the customs union,the common market and the monetary union. This includes the elimination of Non-Tariff Barriers such as tax harmonisation as well as Mutual Recognition Agreements for qualifications. This is complemented by the project “Establishment of a Regional Quality Infrastructure in the East African Pharmaceutical Sector” implemented by the National Metrology Institute of Germany (PTB). The programme also provides financial contributions to the EAC Partnership Fund, a basket fund receiving support from different development partner countries. The “Peace and Security Programme” that implemented the African Peace and Security Structure (APSA) of the African Union at the regional level ended in 2014.

      - In the health sector German development cooperation focuses on vaccines, health supply chain management and prevention of pandemics. Germany has supported the procurement of vaccines against different diseases for children in the EAC 60 million euros since 2012. The programme is being implemented in collaboration with GAVI. On request by the EAC Germany is also supporting the establishment of an EAC Regional Centre of Excellence for Health Supply Chain Management. The Centre which will be hosted in Kigali will strengthen capacities and support the management of complex supply systems for health products, such as vaccines that need to be kept cool at all times.

       - In addition, the German Government is providing financial assistance to establish a regional Media School in Nairobi in collaboration with the Aga Khan University.

New Commitments 2016-18

At the last bilateral negotiations in September 2015 Germany committed a total of 37 million euros in grants to the EACfor 2016-2018, highlighting the strong commitment to support the integration process in East Africa.   

·        17 million euros in technical assistance were committed to further support the regional economic integration (see above), including a contribution to the EAC partnership fund. The support for the regional quality infrastructure for the pharmaceutical sector will also be continued. Read more

·         10 million euro in financial assistance will be invested in the establishment of a regional network of reference laboratories for communicable diseases. With this project, the German Government responds to a request for support from the EAC for the prevention and control of epidemic outbreaks in the region. 

·         Another 10 million euro in financial assistance will be used for Integrated Water Resource Management of Lake Victoria aiming at improving water provision and management of water resources.

Building a common future - Germany funded new EAC headquarters

Germany contributed 14 Mil. Euro for the new EAC Headquarters Building which was opend on November 28th 2012 by the five Heads of States of the EAC Partners States Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi with the participation of two high ranking representatives from the Federal Republic of Germany.

Germany and the East African Community